Anime Musings: Oct 2012 Fall Anime Status


Catching up on Fall Anime 2012

Photobucket

Summer has come and gone. I even skipped the seasonal first impressions post as I wasn’t really excited with the shows that aired over the Summer season. The Autumn anime offerings though, are the complete opposite. The new season is very much in full swing as all the shows in the Fall schedule have already aired. I must say that it is rare for me to pick more than a handful of shows to watch after checking out those on my ‘Before Airing List’ in any given season. More often than not, I tend to drop several shows from the initial preview list. Well, I surprise myself this time by not dropping anything outright (perhaps just one).  That’s not to say I follow each one of shows as they air.  It’s just a matter of re-shuffling the priority according to my anticipation and excitement level of the series that I’ve seen so far.  So then, what’s on my before and after ‘Watch List’? Check them out below.😀


::THE BEFORE AIRING LIST::

< Plan to Watch >

Code:Breaker
K
Kamisama Hajimemashita
Little Busters!
Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic
Psycho-Pass
Robotic; Notes
Shin Sekai Yori
Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun
Zetsuen no Tempest

< Might Watch >

BTOOOM!
Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai!
Suki-tte Ii na yo.

< Guaranteed Watch >

Jormungand 2: Perfect Order [Sequel|Continuation]
Photobucket
OP: UNDER/SHAFT by Maon Kurosaki
ED: Laterality by Nagi Yanagi

::THE AFTER AIRING LIST::

< Definite Watch (excluding sequels) >

Shin Sekai Yori
(Seen: Ep 1-5)
Photobucket
Thoughts : I gotta say this is possibly my favourite anime of the season so far. Shin Sekai Yori manages to create psychological suspense within the world that the characters inhabit. The music is just as awesome in delivering the tense atmosphere of  a mysterious world where things just aren’t quite what they seemed on the surface.

About the recent episode, while it was interesting to see Satoru rise up to the occasion to play the smart hero to Saki, I don’t think it was all that unexpected. Satoru is always full of ideas even if he behaved in mischief before and I’d always thought he had a crush on Saki so his character shift isn’t out of the blue. What’s more out of the blue was the difference in animation style that made the characters appear more grown up. I reckon I’m not the only one who thought that it has something to do with the display of intimacy in the said episode. Despite that wee bit of stylistic change, I still find the episode thrilling but now I’m more curious to find out what happen to Shun and the other 2 kids? I don’t suppose we’ll be finding out in the coming episode but nonetheless, I’m just as excited to see how will Satoru and Saki get out of the predicament they’re caught in.

OP/ED: Wareta Ringo by Risa Taneda

Psycho-Pass
(Seen: Ep 1-4)
Photobucket
Thoughts: Here’s another new show that I know nothing of, prior to it’s airing. I reckon that’s a good thing because I don’t really know what to expect before watching it. Fortunately, Psycho-Pass managed to impress me in its 1st episode with its grungy atmosphere and dystopian world setting. I’m hooked from the get go, so to speak. I’m curious about the main male protagonist Shinya, particularly his past and his connection to the white hair guy, Shogo.  The main female lead Akane is less interesting though I like to see her character being more and more affected by the harsh reality of the situations she encounter as the series progresses.

OP: abnormalize by Ling Tosite Sigure

ED: Namae no nai Kaibutsu by EGOIST

Zetsuen no Tempest
(Seen: Ep 1-4)
Photobucket
Thoughts: I certainly didn’t expect that after 4 episodes, this show is turning out to be better than the first few chapters of the manga it is adapted from. That’s saying something, really. Sure, they switch things up a tad and added in some anime original material particularly in episode 4, but that only made the show *win* in my book. Zetsuen is clearly the better adaptation than ‘Code:Breaker’. I love our duo’s flashback as kids and how they met. It was rather funny especially Yoshino. He pretty much puts Mahiro in his place coming up with such a clever story about Mahiro’s accident. So adorable. I’m actually looking forward to find out more about Aika’s death. Can’t help but think her suspicious death is a setup of sorts that will cause our duo into conflict with each other down the road. Hmmph!

OP: Spirit Inspiration by Nothing’s Carved in Stone

ED: happy endings by Kana Hanazawa

K
(Seen: Ep 1-4)
Photobucket
Thoughts: ‘K’ seemed to arouse plenty of negative comments in anime forums. It is probably because of the high expectations of viewers being fed by no less than the producers with its heavy promo blitz before the show actually aired. Whatever, style over substance can still work if done the right way. I’m still interested to see how the series will turn out in the end and whether they can get the story going with the premise they have created. The main trio is funny to watch but I think I’m more interested in the conflict between the red and blue clans, particularly that of Reishi and Mikoto.

Thought I should point out to anime viewers who are non-manga readers that ‘K-The Memories of Red’ is actually the prequel to the anime series. The events in the manga took place before what goes on in the anime. Tatara, the guy whom Shiro is alleged to have killed in the anime, was still alive. So, it’s safe for anime watchers to read the manga as it won’t spoil anything at all except to give more exposition to who Tatara is and also the members of the ‘Red’ clan. It made them all the more interesting as characters when you follow the anime.

OP: KINGS by Angela

ED: Tsumetai Hiya, Hitori by Mikako Komatsu

Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic
(Seen: Ep 1-4)
Photobucket
Thoughts: Ok, I’m actually a manga reader watching the anime adaptation of Magi. How do I find the anime so far? I thought that the bit about Aladdin screaming in frustration to Ugo about wanting to get out of his confined environment in ep 1, felt a wee bit off. It certainly didn’t appear that way in the manga. The anime made Aladdin appear somewhat more bratty when he really is just an overly curious little boy who wishes to explore the world outside after reading about it in books while he’s hidden from the world. Other than that, I’m rather enjoying what is shown up to this point. I’m quite excited about the Kouga arc where some interesting situation will happen and we’ll get to meet more new characters.

OP: V.I.P by SID

ED: Yubi Bōenkyō by Nogizaka46

BTOOOM!
(Seen: Ep 1-4)
Photobucket
Thoughts: I’d not intended to watch this anime but somehow ended up giving it a first shot. Glad I did though. I like the game premise, sort of like the last one standing, wins. It’s brutal and gritty with plenty of interesting actions. What I want to see is how the life and death situations will affect the male protagonist Ryouta, who was such an arse in the 1st episode. Looking forward to see more of the other competitors appear.

OP: No Pain, No Game by Nano

ED: Aozora by May’n

Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun
(Seen: Ep 1-4)
Photobucket
Thoughts: I’m enjoying this little rom-com anime adaptation. It’s fun to see Mizutani and Haru being brought to animated life. Haru is adorkable and I just love how he treats Nagoya. So cute. It has a great supporting cast in Natsume, Sasahara and Haru’s big bro Yuzan…funny crafty guy who enjoys teasing Haru and loves sweet desserts.

OP: ‘Q&A Recital’ by Haruka Tomatsu

ED: ‘White wishes’ by 9nine

Suki-tte Ii na yo.
(Seen: Ep 1-4)
Photobucket
Thoughts: Suki-tte is another manga to anime adaptation that has given me a good impression and is continuing to outshine the source material. If people are worried about smut appearing in the anime because they heard about the source material being such and such, fret not. That is not the case with the anime so far and whatever it is has been rather tame and tone down or not even shown, simply because it isn’t the focus of the story. The straight forward shoujo romance is the focus of the story. Mei is quite an interesting character and she seems to be affecting change in the people she has come to be friends with. Ai Kayano did an excellent job voicing Mei. Oh ya, I love the OP Song by the late Ritsuko Okazaki. I think it’s the perfect opening theme for Suki-tte, definitely one of my favourite OPs of this season. The anime also has one of my favourite ED themes, ‘Slow Dance’ by Suneohair. Been a while since I heard anything new from Suneohair. The song remind me of ‘Honey and Clover’ all over again. ^_^

OP: Friendship ~for Say ‘I Love You’. by Ritsuko Okazaki

ED: slow dance by Suneohair

Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai!
(Ep 1-4)
Photobucket
Thoughts: It has been 4 episodes of weirdness and I’m rather amused by this show, especially the characters. So, it’s a keeper for now.

OP: Sparkling Daydream by ZAQ

ED: INSIDE IDENTITY by Maaya Uchida, Chinatsu Akasaki, Azumi Asakura , and Sumire Uesaka

< Casual Watch >

Kamisama Hajimemashita
(Seen: Ep 1-4)
Photobucket

Thoughts: One word, TOMOE. I just love that snarky attitude he possessed. However, I might just end up marathoning the anime when it ends since my weekly watch list is already overflowing.😆

OP: Kamisama Hajimemashita by Hanae

ED: Kamisama Onegai by Hanae

Little Busters!
(Seen: Ep 1-4)
Photobucket
Thoughts: Little Busters seemed to have a slow, slow build-up despite some comedic moments. I’m glad we’re finally getting into a proper story arc. That means, we’re moving into the main story that will lead to somewhere and it is the ‘somewhere’ bit I’m anticipating. Will still follow this anime but on a bi-weekly pace.

OP: Little Busters! by Rita

ED: Alicemagic by Rita

Robotic;Notes
(Seen: Ep 1-2)
Photobucket
Thoughts: Again, another show with a slow pace that I’m only watching on a bi-weekly basis. I do want to see Kaito and Akiho successfully build a real robot and that the ‘robot’ isn’t just in the anime title for show.😛

OP: Junjō Spectra  by Zwei

ED: Umikaze no Brave by fumika

< Sidelined >

Code:Breaker
(Seen: Ep 1-3)
Photobucket
Thoughts: Argh! Here comes a disappointment of an adaptation that I was hoping to be better but alas, it hasn’t done anything to spur my interest. There’s one consistency in both anime and manga though. And what might that be? SAKURAKOUJI!!! She’s annoying even in the anime even if it’s only 3 episodes that I’d watched before sidelining this. Sakura wasn’t as annoying in the first arc of the manga but gotten progressively worse after that. I can’t stand her whiny idealist attitude and the way she try to force her extremely naive views down every one’s throats, even if her friend is being beaten to the point of death in front of her very eyes. Jeez, Ogami should just flamed her mouth shut.

OP: DARK SHAME by GRANRODEO

ED: Shiroi Karasu by Kenichi Suzumura

Well, that’s pretty much what I’m watching this Fall.

2 thoughts on “Anime Musings: Oct 2012 Fall Anime Status

  1. Personally, I love K so far! I’m currently following both anime and manga, and it’s really to see the past (in the case of K: Memory of Red), and the anime. Like you, I want more of the blue/red clan action. But so far, K hasn’t disappointed me yet!

    Like

    • I think we can both agree that K is actually entertaining to watch despite it’s lack of story or plot progression. I don’t think that in itself is bad. It is a series that don’t try to take itself seriously but it isn’t mindless. That’s one reason why I can enjoy the episode as it comes. The prequel manga has interesting bits of the past that I like too. At least, one gets to know more about the individual members that made up the Red clan. ^^

      Like

Leave a Reply

