From the Desk: Misc updates, babblings and such…


Well, Hullo Peeps. Time for some random updates, babblings and then some…

Photobucket

I say it again, time surely flies. Autumn will soon come to past, giving way to Winter. And before you know it, the whole world will greet a brand new calendar year. But what have I been doing whilst the moon waxes and wane, you ask?!

Life as it is now:
I’ve been posting so very little on here due to the lack of available time these days. Although I try *tweeting* every now and then just so people know that I’m still alive, it does not help much in easing the situation. ^o^ Oh well, I thought the RL schedule would slow down a little but nay, things just gets busier and my free time is usually spent away from the internet. As much as I want things to go back to the way they were with tBPII, it is nigh impossible with the way things are at present. Nonetheless, I will still be posting the usual stuff but on an irregular basis. One thing I have been thinking about lately is having another contributor who could write snippets of ani-manga related interests for tBPII. If you think you are one of those who have some time on your hands and want to be a co-contributor on tBPII, do drop me an email.

Winter sojourn in Japan:
Oh yes, that’s exactly where I’ll be going in two months time. Where in Japan will I be? I’ll mostly be wandering around Tokyo but will also make a trip to Hakone and Yokohama in the Kanagawa prefecture. I’ll probably won’t make it to Kyoto this time although I had initially plan to but due to the myriads of activities on my week long plus stay, it’s not possible to squeeze in a trip to that old historic city, voted the most beautiful city in Asia this year.  It’ll be next on my list along with Nara, Nagoya and Kobe, on a future visit for sure. My sister and two other friends will be accompanying me on this trip.  Accept for the last quarter of our trip, we have settled where we are going to stay and that made it easier for us to plan out our activities. I’m really excited and is very much looking forward to my first Winter sojourn in Japan and spending New Year’s Day there. Rest assure that I’ll be very busy snapping away with my camera. Yay!

Ani-manga babblings:
It’s evident that I hardly do anime-related post these days. Not that I’ve gone off following the seasonal offerings, I just don’t allocate the limited time I have to ramble on about what I watch. Like I said in my introductory blog post, I only ever blog about things that I felt compel to share if they strike my fancy and interest to do so. That said, I am watching a handful of the Autumnal offerings. Chihayafuru, Mirai Nikki, Phi-Brain, Fate/Zero, Guilty Crown, Un-Go and Last Exile are on my current watch list. As much as I enjoy Tamayura’s OVAs, I decided to keep the series on the back burner along with Kimi to Boku which I have heard, is not up to the manga fans expectations. As such, I reckon it would be best to watch the whole thing when it is complete to see what the complain is all about.😛

How about manga mags? Oh I still get those of course. I may not post mag snippets as I am wont to do before but I enjoy receiving and reading my monthly subscriptions. It’s always fun to anticipate the December and January 2012 (New Year) issues because they are usually bumper issues packed with freebies and calendars. I looking forward to see what’s in store from ASUKA, ZERO-SUM, COMIC GENE, GFANTASY, LALA and the last issue of AVARUS for 2011 (last because I’m dropping it). Why is LaLa on the list? I buy it on and off so that I could check out Natsume Yuujincho and Gakuen Babysitters. Thus it gets a mention. By the way, I’m sure it is old news by now but just in case there are fans of Natsume out there who didn’t know:

THIS!!!
Photobucket
Photobucket

I’ve also gotten my copy of Cornett’s Vol.6 and Natsume Yuujincho’s Vol.12. I’ll be sharing scans of Cornett on tBPII along with the latest chapter snippet in an upcoming Zero-Sum post. I plan to get the special volume edition of Karneval Vol.8, Shinrei Tantei Yakumo Vol.6, Pandora Hearts Vol.16, Kuroshitsuji Vol.13 and Toxic Vol.3 when I’m in Tokyo. Will be checking out Vol.1 of Ilegenes-Giyoku no Koukyoukyoku plus Donten ni Warau, UDDUP, Dendrobates back issues and Tactics. I know my sister would probably give me the evil eye for wanting to weigh down the baggage capacity with all that. LOLOL

I’m sure some would want to know if I still continue to contribute to manga projects. The answer is yes but on a limited basis. I had to turn down several requests from interested scanlation groups simply because I don’t have time to contribute. I’m however, committed to the ongoing projects at hand and would love to start my own little translation team in the future for new manga titles that interest me.

Fandom Gripes:
I’m highly bemused at the behaviour of the infamous trolls and flamers from the VK fandom. Really, these so called ‘fans’ should get a proper hobby. Your life isn’t about flaming opposite sides of the pairing ships and the bloggers who post their opinions on their preferences. Duh! What a silly thing to dwell on. And then there’s the other hyper fandom of which I’m a regular contributor. What’s that again…hah, certain *fans* of 07-G never fails to irk me. I appreciate your passion and enthusiasm but meh, please DO read what I’ve laid down in my chapter snippet post. What I said I won’t do exactly meant what it is. I will not give any leeway no matter how good a fan you are. If I gave in to one, it certainly won’t be fair to the others. Regardless of the impassioned pleas, a rule is a rule. I do have a suggestion. What you cannot ask from me, you can ask ‘indirectly’ from the other fans. The key word here is ‘indirect’ clues. I’m sure there are many lovely 07-G fans out there willing to share clues to help some of you solve the puzzle to the chapter teasers. I’m certainly not being smug. It’s a matter of principle. What one has laid down, one should see it through without any sort of bias.

On comments:
To those who’ve commented on the myriads of posts on tBPII, thank you very much. I try to reply to most when I’m able to. If I don’t respond to your queries or opinions, please don’t think that I’m ignoring them. I do read and appreciate them even if I don’t always respond in time and in kind, particularly to the regulars from the 07-G fandom and manga-mag followers. You are very welcome indeed.😀 On a related note, those who wish me to add them on Ayu’s LJ, please do read my introductory post on the requirements for me to add you there. Comments there are screened for a purpose. If you get through by following the guideline, then it’s all good.

Is this the end?
Well, it appears that I have written a massive wall of text which is quite rare. Give me a reason or two and off I ramble. It’s probably TL/DR but still, I’m not bothered. I post what’s on my mind and that is what matters regardless if any one read them or not.

Until the next time…Cheers y’all.

2 thoughts on “From the Desk: Misc updates, babblings and such…

  1. Hello Ayu!

    I wish you the best with your soujourn in Japan and I hope you’ll ennjoy everyday of it!🙂
    This is a beautiful experience and surely it will be rich of happiness, I wish so! ♥ ♥ ♥

    Like

Leave a Reply

