[Fall 2010 Anime] OP/ED Quick Impressions 01


FALL 2010 ANIME OP/ED – PART 1
Fall OP/ED 01 (1) (1)

2010 Fall Anime season begins in earnest with several new shows airing within the 1st week of Oct. By no means am I watching all of the season’s offerings. That would be utterly nutters. But anyway, here’s a glimpse of the first batch of the Fall season’s OP/EDs from the shows that I’ve managed to catch and put on tBP’s ‘trial-watch’ list. Which ones made an impression on you so far?

Tamayura (OAV) – たまゆら
I stumbled into this not really knowing what to expect but I am very pleased that I caught the 1st of a purportedly ‘planned’ 4 OVA episodes by Satou Junichi and I adored it immensely. With photography as a focal point to a cute little splice of life story, it already got me hook for more. The characters are fun to watch and Potte is so clumsy cute. The quiet and charming atmosphere coupled with the lightheartedness made this such an enjoyable watch. That and the pink alien fluff-ball they called a ‘cat’. I want me a ‘momoneko’ too…lol.

OP: “Yasashisa ni Tsutsumareta Nara (やさしさに包まれたなら)” by Maaya Sakamoto
Vodpod videos no longer available.
Maaya Sakamoto is back with another OP theme song contribution. This time it’s a remake or should I say a cover of an old song that was first used as the ending theme to one of my favourite Ghibli production i.e. ‘KiKi’s Delivery Service’. I love Depapepe’s re-arrangement of the song which clearly compliments Maaya’s vocal delivery. The visuals add to the happy and carefree vibe which the music conveys. One of my favourites for sure.

ED: “Melody (メロディ)” by Megumi Nakajima
Vodpod videos no longer available.
What does it take to get Megumi Nakajima to sing an anime theme tune but to voice-act as one of the characters. ‘Melody’ is a suitably fitting song to close out ‘Tamayura’ and is among Megumi’s better ones but my favourite ED song from her is still ‘Watashi ni Dekiru Koto’ which is ‘Kobato’s’ 2nd outro theme. I do enjoy the easy going melody and what’s more, the photo snapshots in the ending sequence creates a nostalgic feeling.

Bakuman – バクマン。
I’m not to sure what to think of this manga to anime adaptation. I don’t dislike it but it doesn’t excite me all that much either. It just feels like an average adaptation but I’ll still watch it, at least the next couple of episodes to determine whether I’ll stick it on the weekly watch list.

OP1:  “Blue Bird” by Kobukuro
Vodpod videos no longer available.
Kobukuro’s best anime song to date is ‘Summer Rain’, the ‘Cross Game’ OP. ‘Blue Bird’ does not even come close to matching it. Very average, generic albeit retro-ish sounding j-pop love ballad. The intro visuals are so-so as well.

ED1:  “BAKUROCK ~Mirai no Rinkakusen~ (BAKUROCK~未来の輪郭線~)” by YA-KYIM
Vodpod videos no longer available.
‘Bakurock’ on the other hand is an upbeat catchy rock. I quite like the outro visuals. They capture the essence of what Bakuman is better than the dull OP.

Tegami Bachi Reverse – テガミバチ REVERSE
Tegami Bachi is the returning series that I’d most wanted to see, more so than ‘Hakuouki’. The opening episode is just as I expected it to be, an well executed continuation from where the 1st season’s finale left off. It’s so good to see Gauche reunited with Lag even though it’s not the kind of reunion Lag would have wanted. It’s going to get even better and darker from here on if the animators keeps the adaptation on the ‘Reverse’ route.

OP: “Chisana Mahō (小さな魔法; Little Magic)” by Stereopony
Vodpod videos no longer available.
Love the OP song at first listen and it’s a good opening number from Stereopony, imo, one of their best anime-related songs to date. The OP visuals in itself acts as a little intro to all our beloved characters. More Jiggy Pepper is good. *LoL*

ED:  “Wasurenagusa (勿忘草; Forget-Me-Not)” by Piko
Vodpod videos no longer available.
The ending song by Piko is not too bad a theme either. It carries just enough drama that the ending visuals seemed to convey. One thing though, Piko’s voice bugs me.

Star Driver Kagayaki no Takuto – STAR DRIVER – 輝きのタクト
Now, I have to say that the opening episode of ‘Star Driver’ surprised me because I really find it amusing and entertaining. Takuto is such a laughable character. I’m looking forward to seeing more.

OP:  “GRAVITY Ø” by Aqua Timez
Vodpod videos no longer available.
Fab intro visuals paired with an upbeat, high energy song that very much reflects on the main character of the series. Song is catchy but the vocals…Do not want ‘nasally’ vocals.

ED:  “Cross Over” by 9nine
Vodpod videos no longer available.
The ED song is performed by all girl group ‘9nine’. It’s one of those bubbly J-pop numbers, somewhat catchy but generic. Outro visuals are simple, focusing on the main trio of what seem to be a series with a large cast of characters.

Shinrei Tantei Yakumo – Psychic Detective Yakumo – 心霊探偵八雲
Ok, admittedly this is one of my most anticipated Fall series simply because I followed the current manga adaptation published in monthly Asuka. Unfortunately, the opening episode left much to be desired. They cut out lots of stuff that would have made the whole atmosphere more creepier. But I will still be following the anime just to see how it goes. Besides, I can’t get enough of Ono D’s voice.😛

OP: “Key” by Daisuke Ono
Vodpod videos no longer available.
Ono D sings. Well I know that he does but this is quite different from the type of songs that he usually sings, like the KS character songs which are ‘lulz-worthy’. ‘Key’ is edgier, befitting the show’s thriller/mystery theme and opening visuals. The distorted voice adds to the moody atmospheric tone.

ED: “Missing You” by Lisa Komine
Vodpod videos no longer available.
The ending theme is quite the opposite from the intro theme. It’s a calming ballad from Lisa Komine whom I enjoy listening to. I thought it work rather well with the snapshots ending sequence, much like “‘Tamayura’s ED”.

Hakuouki Hekketsu-roku – 薄桜鬼 碧血録
Yes, I’m following Hakuouki’s continuation just so I could see the shinsengumi cut their locks off and wear the ‘hawt’ new westernized outfits…*rofl*…needless to say, I got all that by watching the opening episode. I don’t care about the so called ‘heroine’ at all. I want to see Kazama vs Hiji fight in their spanking new outfits and learn some shisengumi history lesson…not. ‘LoL’

OP: “Mai Kaze (舞風)” by Aika Yoshioka
Vodpod videos no longer available.
Oooh, fangirlable worthy OP visuals. Don’t like the song as much. The 1st OP is much better than this one.

ED: “Akane Sora ni Negafu (茜空に願ふ)” by Mao
Vodpod videos no longer available.
Double OO, ED visuals is twice as fangirlable. ED song is much nicer than the OP one. Fits the ending scene rather well with all the floaty visuals. xD

Arakawa under the Bridge ×2 – 荒川アンダー ザ ブリッジ×ブリッジ ×2
Arakawa is back and it’s as wacky as ever. As Kou gets more comfy living under the bridge, he gets to meet more weird new characters who are bound to make life under the bridge even more wacko than it already is. No ED, just the OP for the opening episode.

OP: “COSMOS vs ALIEN” by Etsuko Yakushimaru
Vodpod videos no longer available.
Alright, I could not get into this song at all…really, absolutely weird, twisty melody. It’s all swirly and alien sounding. I guess that’s why it’s called ‘Cosmos vs Alien’. I prefer ‘Venus to Jesus’ more. The intro sequence though, is rather eye-catching, very interesting to see. Despite the weird theme song, the OP is one of my favourites.

Kami Nomi zo Shiru Sekai – The World Only God Knows – 神のみぞ知るセカイ
This is a last minute addition as I only got to watch episode 1 just a few moments ago. Another series that kicks off without an ED.  We’ll probably get to see a proper ED next episode.
OP: “God only knows” by Oratorio The World God Only Knows
Vodpod videos no longer available.
The OP sequence with its crisp animation is quite similar to ‘EOTE’ intro visuals with a touch of ‘ef’. Even the song carries that slight ‘ef’ influence. The vocals sounds very much like Elisa’s singing. Oratorio is probably a musical collaboration of sorts. Song’s alright except I can’t really make out the ‘Engrish’ bits.

And that’s the 1st part of my Fall OP/ED impressions. My favourite OP/ED songs combo is from ‘Tamayura’ whereas the OP visuals that made me instantly go ‘ah, I really like that’ is ‘STAR DRIVER’. It engaged my attention outright.  Most pretty ED visuals of the lot came from …tadah…bishie overload ‘Hakuouki’.  Mind you, this is only the 1st batch. I wonder if the second batch is any interesting. We’ll see then, won’t we?!

3 thoughts on “[Fall 2010 Anime] OP/ED Quick Impressions 01

  1. november cannot come fast enough for me…..the only one that has caught my fancy is the ED for Shinrei Tantei Yakumo. Lisa Komine does it again🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

