[Mags] Snippets from Oct Issues of GFantasy and Sylph


Snippets from GFantasy Issue 10 plus bonus from Sylph Issue 10

GFS10 (1)

Yay! Ayu is back with a long overdue update.  Well, I didn’t want to miss out sharing snips from the Oct issue of GFantasy and for the first time, some juicy *spoils* from Sylph manga mag. I reckon both Kuroshitsuji and Pandora Hearts fandom have probably seen the scanlated of Chapters 49 and 53 respectively. So this post gives me an opportunity to post my favourite panels from both series. Besides, there are other titles that people might not have the chance of viewing and ‘Gfan’ is known to publish short one-off titles from upcoming Mangakas. I thought it’ll be fun to preview some panels from the one shots and the other titles that tickle my fancy. And heck ya, I got the freebie Kuroshitsuji mechanical pencil to go with the pen from last issue. This will also be the first time I post any snippets from ‘Sylph’ manga mag. I came across and pick up Issue 10 out of sheer curiosity for ‘Dear Girl ~stories~’ which is inspired by Kamiya Hiroshi and Ono Daisuke, two of my favourite seiyus. Fans of Sylph will *squee* at the bonus poster collection that came with the Oct issue. Anyway, it’s not going to be a regular feature on my current manga mag subscription list, though. Last but not least, guess I should warn you peeps that this is an image heavy post.  Enjoy and be absolutely swamp by the image spam…😛

::GFantasy Issue 10::

3rd Successive time that Kuroshitsuji stole the cover feature. Issue 11 will also have a Kuroshitsuji cover. Not that I don’t love it, who doesn’t? I really hope Toboso Yana has plans to collate all her gorgeous Kuro artwork and release a proper artbook.
Photobucket

Kimi to Boku – Colour page and double colour spread for its chapter. I’m a fan of the laid back, simple art style that aptly captures the slice of life feel of the manga. Reminds me a lot of ‘Natsume Yuujin-chou’.
Photobucket
Photobucket

Kimi to Boku Character Info
Photobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucket

Durarara!! Ad promoting DVD Vol 8 & 9 of the anime adaptation
Photobucket

AS6 (Aburi Salmon 6 Ninmae) – Chapter 2… am liking this amusing chapter
Photobucket

Kaki Gentei Tropical Pafe Jiken – Chapter 8 – Ooh, ‘kid’nap by ‘kid’nappers
Photobucket

How did something deliciously sweet took a sour turn? Girl protagonist ends up getting kidnapped and tortured by a snooty bunch of jealous rich girls. Seriously, these girls need to have their faces stuff in a vat of sour cream.
PhotobucketPhotobucket

Torikago Gakkyuu by Mashiba Shin – Chapter 34 Cover in Colour
Photobucket

The Character list so far and Vol.5 is released a few days ago
PhotobucketPhotobucket

DAISUKE! – Chapter 4
Now all Daisukes had been introduced. If you get past the near *yaoi* like situation, you’ll enjoy the comedy more. xD
PhotobucketPhotobucket

And hey, who is your favourite ‘Daisuke’?
L to R: Daisuke Akagi, Daisuke Wakaba, Daisuke Touma, Daisuke Yamabuki, Daisuke Kurokawa. My fav is the Akagi (CV: Ono D) *_*

Lammermoor no Shounen Kiheitai from Natsunishi Nana – Chapter 5
Creepy Art and macabre story. I didn’t really get into ‘Lammermoor’ initially. Anyway, it’s about a group of school boys being conned by a nutcase dude to act out a real do or die play on board a creepy cruise liner named ‘Lammermoor’. One of the boys even cross dress a girl… so ghey.
Photobucket

This is a nice cover illustration though. Volume 1 is due out on Oct-27.
Photobucket

Umineko – final chapter of Episode 2 ‘Turn of the Golden Witch’
Photobucket

If you’re an Umineko fan, fret not… new story (Ep3) begins next.
Photobucket

Colour cover page. Love the colour palette but yeah, Umineko is boring to me.
Photobucket

Shirokuro Kitan – Chapter 11 ‘1st Cry in Darkness’
I love this series so far. The gothic art style is reminiscent of Shiro Miwa’s ‘DB+C’ with a bit of ‘Shiki’ but less flamboyant. xD Shirou, Ririko and Kurokichi were attacked by those  ‘flaming eyes’ from the Dark Tower… hmm…this is starting to sound like something from Stephen King. Kurokichi’s ability is sure scary awesome!
PhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucket

::The One Shots::

Planet World‘ by Sora Ageha is the featured one shot. Shoutas and magic, works for me. Like it.
PhotobucketPhotobucket

Mangabattle of short manga stories featured 4 titles vying for reader’s attention
Photobucket

1) ‘Aru Nichi, Mori no Naka de’ by Hazuki Wakana
– My favourite of the 4. The art and the story is soooo cute & funny too.
PhotobucketPhotobucket

2) ‘Kimi Para’ by Kimura Rin
– Another comedy strip that’s hilarious xD
PhotobucketPhotobucket

3) ‘Zujou Chuui!’ from Chinoku – Clumsy protagonist is clumsy. Not really feeling this one.
PhotobucketPhotobucket

4) ‘Magic Club‘ from Touno Manabu
– *LOL* The girl is ‘fail’ in magic…haha. Poor dude is a victim of her *magic* attempts.
PhotobucketPhotobucket

::KUROSHITSUJI::  – Chapter 49

Ok, I’m glad the ‘whodunnit’ Arthur arc wraps up nicely with this chapter. A new arc begins next issue. Looking forward to it.
Photobucket
Photobucket

I’d love to see this illustration in colour. Grey vs Sebby is hilarious.
Photobucket

Can Ciel be anymore sadistic to his supposedly ‘dead’ butler? Yes he can *LMAO* Seriously, that face just screams ‘Evil’. xDDD
Photobucket

Sebby and Kittie Love running gag
Photobucket

I totally love this panel… *Rofl* Sebby made it by the skin of his teeth. Grey is just so sharp… He’s becoming one of my favourite new KS character. Funny and cute!
Photobucket

Yep, just stomp to see if the butler is truly dead.😀
Photobucket

Aw, Sebby didn’t have to scare Arthur shitless like that.
Photobucket

Poor guy had to endure the freaky Phantomhive experience  for so long but it made him write the now famous Sherlock tales…hahaha… at least in the Kuroshitsuji-verse he did. For a moment, I thought Toboso-sensei turn Sebby into a giant octopus spewing ink and bearing tentacles. Chapter 49 is such a fun read and is the most comical chapter in a long while.
Photobucket

Kuroshitsuji Volume 10 featured a very dignified Tanaka on the cover.
I received my copy a day after it was released in Japan. Not going to post tank covers & colour pages this time round. A certain site has already shared them.
Photobucket

PANDORA HEARTS – Chapter 53

Omake – ft Reim and Break mainly
Photobucket

This is such a (T_T) chapter but I still wonder if Reim is really dead. Mochizuki finally dared to kill off a main supporting character.  Lily is a very baaaaad girl and should be punished. Seems like we’re being clued in to who the real ‘headhunter’ is. Since Reo is initially from the House of Fianna, he might be one of the original HH contractor.
Photobucket

My favourite panel that speaks alot about what’s going down and angry Break looks super awesome and badass.
Photobucket

::SYLPH Issue 10::

Main Cover featuring ‘Sorakara! Mai ☆ Nanny
Photobucket

All about ‘Hakuouki Hekketsu-roku
‘Hakuouki’ fans are eagerly anticipating Season 2 which will air in a little more than a week’s time. So this little preview might be of interest.
Hakuōki Hekketsu-roku
Character designs for Season 2 – love the smexy uniforms
Hakuōki Hekketsu-roku
Hakuōki Hekketsu-roku
Hakuōki Hekketsu-roku

Freebie cut-out thingy that came with issue
Hakuouki Cut Outs

Dear Girl ~Stories~ HIBIKI by Suwa Masaru – Chapter 11 Cover in a double page colour spread. So the stories are based on Ono D and Kamiyan… so fun and wacky!
Dear Girl ~Stories~ HIBIKI

Himegoto wa Hanazono by Watanabe Asia gets a colour page
– 5 men, a couple of babies and smelly diapers 😀
Himegoto wa Hanazono

New manga serialization – Karakuri X Limit by Tomine Naruse debuts its first chapter.
Karakuri X Limit - Tomine Naruse
Karakuri X Limit - Tomine Naruse

Sylph Summer Poster Collection
– It is what is says it is, a collection of posters from some of Sylph popular manga series
Photobucket
Curious as to what the posters are, well *Click* on the cover to get to the freebie but you need to know the name of the manga-mag that gave away this lovely bonus. Easy-peasy, right?!😛

The index page tells you which manga the posters are from.
Photobucket

And that ended a rather long winded update full of image spam!
Enjoy!🙂

**Note: You may use the images for personal use but don’t claim the scans as your own and post it everywhere w/o due credit to their original source.TQ!

11 thoughts on “[Mags] Snippets from Oct Issues of GFantasy and Sylph

  1. Another Comic Sylph fan😀
    Awesome!
    When I first started blogging no one really knew of Comic Sylph. I’m glad it’s finally getting some popularity (going monthly also helped too <3)

    Thanks for scanning the pictures ~
    (for both Sylph and GF)

    Like

    • xD, thank you for your comments.
      I happen to randomly read manga serialized in Sylph, the recently concluded S.L.H among them. So I thought I pick it up to check out the manga-mag for myself. It’s not actually on my subscription list but it is fun to check out the publication every now and then to keep abreast with the new series.

      Like

      • 😀
        You read S.L.H.!?
        OMG! Another fan :3
        This calls for confetti!
        *confetti explosion*

        Recently a lot of new series have started in Comic Sylph. I’m overwhelmed by the numbers! :O
        But that just means the company must be doing well ~
        I love reading the one shots in Comic Sylph x3 (they’re the main reason I get the magazine in – along with the wonderful freebies xD)
        (also because the language inside isn’t too hard core so a newb in Japanese like me can read it without too much difficulty :3 Once I get better at Japanese, I’ve got my eye on Asuka, G Fantasy, and Zero-Sum x3 They hold lots of manga that are of my tastes ~)

        Like

        • *LOL* yay! for being an S.L.H reader

          Glad to know that Sylph publishes one shots as well. I like reading one shots just as much as serializations. So I’ll probably check out more of Sylph. Z-Sum & G-fan are the other two mangazines that carries one shots. Recent ones have been very interesting, well mostly hilarious. Hopefully, I’ll get to share them on my other blog in the future…when I can squeeze time to scan them. ^_*

          Like

  2. thank you for posting this! I bought this partly for drawing inspiration and partly for the kuroshitsuji pencil. I was fascinated by one of the manga but it had no clues in english like some of the others do. thanks to you I now know it’s shirokuro kitan. thanks!

    Like

  3. Waa…thanks for sharing. I still haven’t gotten my issue yet. How do you get yours so fast? Well, I do live in Seattle, not Japan, but still.

    Like

  4. I’m the first one to comment again xD

    Anyway xD I’ve heard of Dear Girls Stories turned into manga a while ago, there’s a forum that shares a few chapters of it, I can give you the link if you want to. It also has a digest book of 100 stories or something, I haven’t read it yet, only looked through it and apparently every story is commented by the main characters, plus some other guys. I don’t know the details, because I have neither read DGS nor listened to the show, just didn’t have the time to do it. But yeah, it seems to be super popular^^ I like both of them too.

    As for this KS chapter, it was one huge LOL. I dunno which part was funnier, the whole chapter’s made of pure win xD Sebbie with cats, Sebbie getting undressed by others And the way he changed all the time, and how he scared the hell out of that writer, jeez, each and every panel is epic. And Ciel defininitely looked mean there, poor Sebby T_T But of course Ciel wouldn’t miss a chance to torture Sebby, since the latter’s gonna have bocchan’s soul anyway.

    And PH was unbelievably sad this time T_T This time I got lucky to read the raws, not the scanlated version :3 It made my jaw drop when I saw Reim. But I do have a hope he’s still alive, because he’s death is kinda abrupt, meaning it just happened without any depiction in manga, so I’m pretty sure than Reim’s just in a critical condition due to a considerate blood loss.
    But I was really happy when Break got this angry for him. It’s also my most favourite panel from this chapter^^ The only bad thing is that apparently neither of the Baskevilles can die >.>

    Oh and I didn’t quite get what Break got flustered for when Gil hit him. Did you get it? And I wonder whether Break really thought Elliot was involved in the whole incident. I didn’t quite get his behaviour this time.

    Thank you a lot for the updates again, Ayu! ♥

    Like

    • Well thank you for your long and interesting comments. They are always welcome.(*_*)

      I agree that Toboso Yana has come up with one of the funniest KS chapter this time. It’s really a welcome change from what goes on in the’anime’ version.

      As for PH, I think Break felt something after being accidentally hit by Gil. It’s why he ran off immediately after that. It’s either that or he was angry. Break’s chain has the power to negate other chains and I suppose that means he’s quite capable of destroying the Baskerville’s chains. I don’t think the Baskervilles are totally immortal per say. They can probably be killed…depends on what Mochizuki-sensei intends to do with the storyline I supposed.😛
      But I definitely enjoy the current development. It’s even better than KS in that respect.🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

