Kuroshitsuji II – Episode 12: The End or Is It?


Summer 2010 Anime: Kuroshitsuji II – Episode 12 [END]

黒執事 – KuroShitsuji – Black Butler

KSII - EP12 (1)

Last Thoughts:
Hmm, how shall I begin my little thoughts on the final episode? I suppose I should just blab out what is at the top of my head. The producers didn’t only take the liberty to troll the fandom mercilessly with their twists and turns for Season II but they did it to one of the main characters as well. Guess which one is that? Oh dear, poor Sebastian. He didn’t have it easy throughout the series and he won’t ever have it easy from here to eternity. That’s how hard he has been trolled.

Was it a good end? It depends on whose point of view you see Season II from? If it is from Sebby’s than tut tut, tough luck. It sucks big time for him. For hell’s sake, the butler loses his precious dinner forever and could now only stare at it with a melancholic disdain coupled with the fact that he had to be in servitude to his dinner forever. *LMAO* It is such a cruel fate to have befallen him and indeed, Sebby is rightfully pissed! He has been thoroughly checkmated. I do really feel sorry for the once invincible demon butler but I must say, pissy Sebby is fun to watch though. xDDD

If it is from bocchan’s POV, maybe he’s happy to be finally free from his woeful burdens and that he’s still “alive” despite losing his humanity.  Certainly, it’s not the kind of ending I wanted to see for him. I honestly preferred that he lose his soul for good since it did not happen the first time. Not that I didn’t entertained the possibility of Ciel being demonized by the producers because I half expected that it could happen but just wasn’t quite sure how that’s going to fit in if such were the case. It was one of those crack theories some in the fandom had speculated for a totally alternate fanfic type of ending.  What do you know, the writers had actually dare to go down that route. Alas, it still turn out to be a very *wth* @#%$ twist. That’s pretty much my raw reaction at first watch.

Be as it may, I’m glad the finale stuck to the dark, brooding theme and not the ‘Happy Ever After’ fairy-tale schmuck. Admittedly, the ones who have gotten the better end are the anime original characters introduced to spice up the 2nd season. Despite the fact that they all die, Hannah, Claude and ultimately, Alois were given a happy closure. The final scenes were well executed and the producers pretty much left it open-ended once again…yeah, this called for a *facepalm* moment. It was in a way, a genius marketing strategy and mirrored the 1st season’s ending.

In summary, 2nd season is a mix bag of awesome *wtf*and dull moments that was sprinkled with fan-service galore in between which overall, ended up to be an entertaining watch. It’s good that I went aboard without any undue expectations and treat it as a separate entity from the manga. Manga-canon still rules of course!!! From the music standpoint, Iwasaki Taku reused the more prominent main themes from the 1st Season but did composed several new scores as well. As of now, there aren’t any indication if an ost album will be released. Instead, the soundtrack pieces will be released as part of the DVDs. That means, you gotta buy all the pricey DVDs in order to get all the new scores. Someone will be extremely broke…T_T.

As for a 3rd season, I’m not sure if I want that to happen simply because story-wised demon Ciel and Sebastian will come out from the left field. I prefer if they just end it here but I reckon that won’t stop the studio for pulling it out of their expansive bag seeing as they created an open-ending. Never say never…they’ve done it before, they might just do it again…in spite of what Toboso Yana says. Muahaha…$$$ rulez the Worldz!

::Final Episode Screencaps::

The beginning of the end…
Photobucket
Photobucket

Row, row, row your boat
Gently down the stream,
Merrily, merrily, merrily, merrily…
Life is but a dream
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

KuroShitsuji – the meaning behind finally enfoldsPhotobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Hannah and Claude look good together, don’t theyPhotobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

The demon sword that will crush the demon dreams
Photobucket

See Page 2 for continuing screencaps.

14 thoughts on “Kuroshitsuji II – Episode 12: The End or Is It?

  1. I think the series was too short. Though I enjoyed it I cannot say that its detailing was ABSOLUTELY DIVINE SERIOUSLY.

    I discussed this in my blog as well – it minused a certain layer-structure followed by the first, however, it does not instill a depth to the assets it delivers.

    Hannah is SOOO Powerful but it is awkward that she stays docile until the END.

    It seems all the extra characters did was provide fanservice -_-

    Also the ending was a slight Deux Ex Machina

    Cool that Sebastian did not eat Ciel’s soul and that Ciel became a demon – not cool that Sebastian is his slave for eternity (I guess punishment for deception).

    I hope there is a continuation and that more puzzles become fitted or loose whiever way the souless (or soulful) duo bounces ^_^

    Like

  2. I think this last episode was better than this whole season in general.
    Or more like… the ending was awesome, while the season itself was kinda lame (mostly because I couldn’t take Claude and Alois seriously as enemies).

    I think it’s actually a great idea to turn Ciel into a demon, but I feel bad for Sebastian, not only he wasn’t able to eat his soul, now he’s bound to be his butler forever >.>

    Overall, I had more expectations for this season. And it doesn’t really show that its mangaka worked on the storyline for the show. Compared to manga, this one kinda lame T_T (sorry, Ayu, if you liked it^^)

    But manga’s going up, I guess xD The latest chapter was one big lol and whole ala Sherlock Holmes arc was great. And it’s always very interesting, because no matter what Sebastian says, he always leaves you to wonder about his real motives and you never know what he’s thinking about. I find it challenging :3

    Like

    • ^_^ Agreed. The ending is well done. It’s quite similar to Season 1 actually because it left fans wondering wth just happened. *LOL*

      Yes, the manga’s current chapter is totally hilarious. Seb and Ciel were super evil. Poor Arthur though. (^_^;; Scared for life xDDD

      Like

  3. Okay… My reactions are…
    First of all, that was weird!

    Second, WTF?!

    Third, Is there another season?!

    Honestly, I’m begging for another season to come to this anime! I’m actually glad for the SebbyxCiel eternity thingy but I just feel sooo… unsatisfied and confused for a moment.

    Like for those presents for example! Can’t they at least give a better present inside? Oh well, if not, they wouldn’t prove that he’s dead right?

    I’m praying there would be an alternative to this series!!!

    Like

    • Lol, ya…you’re not the only one in the Kuro fandom who felt unsatisfied with how things went in Season 2. I think there are lots of other fans who feel like you too.

      If they (the studio) are gonna do another, I just hope they continue with the manga canon.🙂

      Like

  4. I absolutely agree with Ayu. I too prefered that Sebastian could finally have Ciel’s soul. He had gone through so much, had done everything in his power (and even out of it) to get him. But in the end… I felt like crying for him.
    But who knows maybe they’ll make a season 3, and there, Sebastian finds a way to return Ciel back to being a human. I mean, it’s not like any human can just turn into a demon. there must be rules, even in demon world.
    Anyway we’ll just have to wait and see.

    Like

    • I don’t know if I want to see another season with demon Ciel & Seb. Guess it’s just too odd. totally a different world from the manga. Oh well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

