Tegomass is back and they’ve got a new album!


Music Post!

The Tegomass duo is back with a debut album release…\(^o\)
Tegomass

I know it’s crazy but I waited such a bloody long time for Tegomass to release the second ending theme for Neo Angelique Abyss ~Second Age~. I totally adore that song since I first heard the ED theme. But no ED single came out after their number one hit ‘Aiaigasa‘ and it seemed that they aren’t ever going to release it as a single. Instead, I was hoping Tegomass would release it as a b-side on their ‘Tanabata Matsuri‘ single but nah, I have that single and the song’s not on it. Then came the news of their forthcoming first full length debut album and ta da…it’s on the tracklist. Yippee, jumps for joy. (/o^)/

Eh, hold on a minute…what the heck am I going on about? It’s a song by Tegomass called “Kataomoi no chiisana koi” (片想いの小さな恋 ) which was used as the second ED theme to TV anime Neo Angelique Abyss. The full length version of the song is included in Tegomass debut album titled ‘Tegomass no Uta‘ along with some of their earlier singles releases like Miso Soup and Kaerimichi no Love Song. However, the album exclude songs from their latest single ‘Tanabata Matsuri’. Well, I don’t really mind that exclusion at all as the album has got what I wanted. Tegomass no Uta is officially out on July-15, just a couple of days away.

Anyway, “Kataomoi no chiisana koi” is a lovely cute mid-tempo pop-ballad with a beautiful melody and the bishie duo’s adorable *melty* vocals. So cute…it’s filled with hearts and stars…lulz! Me needs a bit of cheese sometimes…muahaha. But honestly, I love the arrangement and the inclusion of the ‘Erhu’ (二胡). Perfect combination of new and old. It made the song twice as winsome than it already is, imo.  I like it even more than Aiaigasa, the other one of my favourite theme song from Tegomass which is also included on the album.  After a quick preview of the new songs that was tracklisted, there’s one that I particularly like  and it is called ‘Shikisai‘, a song which incorporated an awesome ‘shamisen’ interlude. Now that’s a fab blending of styles which made the song a standout to me. Despite the odd title, the track called ‘Chicken Boy‘ is actually a beautiful gentle ballad. The boys certainly can pull off a good ballad. I approve. (*¬*)

Well, I’m not going to say much more about the album (as I’m getting a little too wordy). So I’m gonna cut off by saying that if you want to know how the entire album sounds like…well, you know what to do.

Album Title: Tegomass no Uta
Artist: TEGOMASS
Release Date: 15-Jul-2009
Catalog No.: JECN-197
Label/Distributor: Sony Music Entertainment
Format: CD
Number of discs (or other units): 1
Source: cdjapan, yesasia, play-asia

cd_cover_01

Tracklist:
01. Miso Soup (Japanese Version)
02. Kiss -Kaeri Michi no Love Song-
03. Tatta Hitotsu Dake
04. Natsu e no Tobira
05. What’s going on?
06. Kushami
07. Sayonara Boku no Machi
08. HIGHWAY
09. POWER OF EARTH
10. Shikisai **
11. Kataomoi no Chisana Koi **
12. Aiai Gasa
13. Ame nochi Hare
14. Chicken Boy **
15. Miso Soup

3 thoughts on “Tegomass is back and they’ve got a new album!

  1. Actually, I’m from the Philippines…
    I just hate the trend here that the public appreciate rock music more than these songs just because they don’t understand these songs…They don’t know how to appreciate songs from other countries except those from Korea and America…

    Like

  2. I think we have the same love for Tegomass’ songs… Their songs are simply beautiful…

    And I also appreciated the songs that you also liked( kataomoi no chiisana koi, shikisai, and chicken boy to be exact)…Too bad that their songs are not played in FM Stations here…
    =(

    Like

Leave a Reply

