Spring ’09 Quick Impressions – OP/ED Part 2


This is the second follow-up to my overview of the Spring 2009 Season’s OPs and EDs along with my short impressions. Bear in mind that these are from the series that I’ve pick for trial watch and by no means are they comprehensive.

Part 2 covers Cross Game (TV), Hanasakeru Seishounen, Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, Natsu no Arashi, Shangri-La (TV) and Valkyria Chronicles (TV).

Cross Game (TV) クロスゲーム
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
Impressions:
Cross Game is  a ‘slice of life’ series that revolved around a boy named Ko Kitamura, the four Tsukishima sisters and the game of baseball. The baseball part mostly served as a backdrop for the development of the main story which spans a period of time of the lead characters’ school going years.  Most of the main characters plus a cute black and white neko were introduced in the first episode.  And already, there’s a sad and dramatic event happening. I think that this series have the potential of having a good story to tell so I’ll be following it.  The series also kicks off  with a wonderful OP theme ‘Summer Rain’ performed by Kobukuro which is complimented by the simple easy going visuals.  But the part that stood out the most was the ED theme ‘Koikogare te Mita Yume’, a moving ballad  sung by Ayaka.  I love how the song played during the final scenes leading to the ending credits. Poignant and beautifully done.  I’m definitely anticipating the release of both singles.

OP Theme: Summer Rain by Kobukuro

ED Theme: Koikogare te Mita Yume (恋焦がれて見た夢) by Ayaka

*****************************************************************
Hanasakeru Seishounen 花咲ける青少年; Youth in Bloom
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
Impressions:
I wasn’t overly impressed with the first episode of this shoujo romance series but I’m still hoping that there will be a little more to the story than just some pretty boys and a girl. The OP theme is another one of those generic J-pop tune that didn’t exactly stand out. The OP song is called ‘Change’ and is sung by J-Min. I’m not quite sure what they are trying to tell with the nude visuals of Kajika in the OP…it was simply unnecessary. The ED theme ‘One’ is also performed by J-Min and is lot nicer than the OP. J-Min’s vocals stood out more on this slow ballad. The ending visuals actually include the preview for the next episode much like the format Tales of the Abyss used.

Opening Theme: Change by J-Min

Closing Theme: One by J-Min

*****************************************************************
Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood 鋼の錬金術師
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
Impressions:
FMA: Brotherhood didn’t disappoint as I thought the opening episode started out quite decently and funny to boot. What kicks off the series in the right frame is the OP theme ‘Again’ sung by Yui. The cut chosen for the opening sequence is very fitting. Unfortunately, I can’t say I like the full version of  Yui’s song. It takes a bit of getting used to and in my mind, it’s not one of her best effort. The ending theme ‘Uso’ by SID is my favourite song of the two. I find the ending sequence humourous although I’m not sure if it’s fitting for the song. I’ll definitely be looking out for SID’s single later this month.

OP Theme: Again by Yui**
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

ED Theme: Uso by SID **
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

*****************************************************************
Natsu no Arashi 夏のあらし!; Summer Storm
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
Impressions:
This is another series that started out a wee bit slow for me and it doesn’t help that the character animation appears a little odd.  What it did possessed is a good OP song. Atashi dake ni Kakete is such a fun number with an interesting animation sequence to match.  The only bit that seemed a bit out is nude shadows of the girls in the visuals. There’s nothing much I can say about the ending sequence except to say that it’s plain and uninteresting. The song ‘Kirari Futari’ however, is rather catchy.

OP Theme: Atashi dake ni kakete by Omokage Lucky Hole

ED Theme: Kirari Futari by Ryoko Shiraishi

*****************************************************************
Shangri-La (TV) シャングリ・ラ
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
Impressions:
Shangri-La does have an interesting premise for a good story but the first episode didn’t quite provide me with that impression. All I see is lolis taking over the world. Will it get better from here? Remains to be seen. Having said that, Kuniko’s character is much more likable than I expected. She’s a spunky and energetic character plus she owns a pretty cool boomerang.  The only complaint I have is in her lolified design…does she even look like an eighteen-year girl?! To me, she looks 12 or younger. Momoko made me laugh. I was a little taken aback hearing such a manly voice coming out from the drag queen. But enough of that and on to the music. The more I listen to MayN’s opening song, the more I like it. I suppose you can say it’s a grower. Didn’t like it as much when I first heard it. The OP animation sequence is quite slick as well. The ED song though, is rather generic and pale by comparison. Even the ending sequence is lacklustre. Midori’s high pitch vocals are just a tad annoying. Certainly not my cup of tea.

OP Theme: Kimi Shinitamō Koto Nakare by May’N

ED Theme: Hajimari no Asa ni Hikari Are by midori

*****************************************************************
Valkyria Chronicles (TV) 戦場のヴァルキュリア
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
Impressions:
Grrr…Alicia got on my nerves. I dislike her character the most in this first episode airing of Valkyria Chronicles. Hopefully that will change in future. Welkin is pretty likable but it is Isara that stood out. She stole the show with that gutsy action of hers. So then, beyond introducing the lead characters, the first episode wasn’t that exciting. Perhaps we’ll see more of the story taking shape as the series progresses. What of the OP? I love the song at first listen. HIMEKA’s expressive vocals sounded really good. I thought the song’s melody is memorable and certainly fitting for the animation sequence that accompanies it. Definitely one of my favourite new opening songs. The ED visuals are certainly cute with all the characters in their chibi form and wing piglet walking around (reminds me of Peony’s rapigs). It certainly has a cheery song that’s fitting for the visuals although it may not entirely suit the nature of a series that is supposedly centered on war and conflict. It just seems too happy, that’s all.

OP Theme: Ashita e no Kizuna by HIMEKA

ED Theme: Ano Kaze ni Notte by pe’zmoku

What’s up next!
I’ll be looking at Tears to Tiara, Before Green Gables, 07-Ghost, Higashi no Eden and Ristorante Paradiso, in what will be the final part of my quick impressions from the crop of Spring 2009 OPs/EDs.
___________________________________________________________

See also: Part 3 – Spring ’09 OP/ED Quick Impressions

4 thoughts on “Spring ’09 Quick Impressions – OP/ED Part 2

  1. Aww, I liked Valkria’s Alicia because she was so stubborn, but a bit aloof; can sense her good nature, but her implementation isn’t quite flawless.

    Haven’t had a chance to view the other series here:/

    Like

Leave a Reply

