Album Review – UVERworld’s AwakEVE

Quick Post!

UVERworld’s latest album release!

AwakEVE is the band’s fourth full length album which features songs from 3 of their 2008 singles releases namely ‘Gekidou’, ‘Koishikute’ and ‘Hanaku mo Towa no Kanashi’ as well as several brand new tracks. Do I like their latest effort?  I have to say a big ‘Yes’.  This is one band that mixes hard hitting rock with elements of electro-pop, post-punk and funky hip-hop beats really well.  And it is this progressive UVERworld blend that you’ll find plenty of in ‘AwakEVE’. Most of the songs are fast to mid-tempo rock numbers. That’s not to say UVERworld don’t do ballads or slower numbers. There’s a couple of ballads like ‘Koishikute’ and a new song ‘Mikageishi’ which I really like. The other thing that stood out is of course, Takuya’s distinctive meandering vocals…that voice is what makes UVERworld, UVERworld you know.

My picks of the new tracks from this album:
02. 99/100 Damashi no Tetsu – I kinda thought this was a very cheeky UVERworld spin on Avril Lavigne’s ‘The Best Damn Thing’ with that similar beat at the beginning…and then it breaks off and turn into an UVERworld song…lol…amusing but I love it.

03. Mikageishi – One of the two slower numbers on the album and I like this one a whole lot better than ‘Koishikute’. I love the simple melody and acoustic feel of the music. Takuya sort of tone down the way he tends to usually weave his vocals on this track which makes it softer…<3

07. Hissei Satsuki PROLOQUE – This is one of the two tracks which I thought was quite different sounding from the rest of the other songs on the album probably because it has more of a electro-feel to it.

08. アイ・アム Riri – Tis the second track with a different sound to it…there’s a bit of Spanish feel in its music arrangement.

10. Forget – A fast rocking number with a catchy chorus and melody and Takuya’s vocals on a lighter scale.

Album Title: AwakEVE
Artist: UVERworld
Date:  18-Feb-2009

Catalog No.: SRCL-6945
Label/Distributor: Sony Music Entertainment
Format: CD
Number of discs (or other units): 1

01. 激動 (AwakEVE ver.)
02. 99/100騙しの哲 (**click to listen)
03. 美影意志 (**click to listen)
04. コロナ
05. 儚くも永久のカナシ
06. earthy world
07. 畢生皐月プロローグ
08. アイ・アム Riri
09. 恋いしくて
10. Forget
11. Just break the limit!
12. 和音
13. ハルジオン(2nd-MIX)

Support Originals. Buy the CD at cdjapan or yesasia.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s