2008 Summer Season Watch


It’s July and the Summer season in the northern hemisphere is in full swing. This means some of the Spring series that I’ve been watching have come to an end as well. Series like Kurenai, Amatsuki and xxxHolic Kei have ended their season run. Vampire Knight is going on hiatus until the Fall season. Kyou Kara Maoh Season 3 is also on a break until August.

Summer brings on a batch of new series. I have decided to check out some new shows, 5 to be exact. Among those that I picked to watch recently are as follows:

World Destruction : Sekai Bokumetsu no Rokunin
Natsume Yuujin-chou (a.k.a Natsume’s Book of Friends)
Mahou Tsukai ni Taisetsu na Koto-Natsu no Sora (a.k.a Someday’s Dreamers)
Seiyou Kottou Yougashiten (a.k.a Antique Bakery)
Sekirei

I have watched the first episodes of 4 series with the exception of Sekirei which I don’t intend to view until at least 3 episodes have been aired. My first impressions of the ones I’ve watched are surprisingly good. I particularly like Natsume Yuujin-chou because the main character is voiced by none other than Hiroshi Kamiya, best known as the voice of Takemoto in Honey and Clover. I love the way the animation is drawn, kind of laid back style with muted colours. It’s really pretty and very much suited to the story line. The OP and ED themes are something that I would listen to as well.

Someday’s Dreamers turned out to be rather impressive too. It’s more of a slice of life story with the main character being a mage in training. This calls to mind another anime with a similar theme and that’s KiKi’s Delivery Service. What attracted me about the animation is the very realistic CGI background graphics. It’s truly amazing although sometimes it can be quite distracting. The reason being the character animation tends to look a little flat against the background. Nonetheless, I am going to follow this series and most likely do some blog reviews. I like the OP theme by Thyme and will probably get the single when it’s released.

World Destruction is another series which I’ll probably keep on watching. I picked this series mainly because Miyano Mamoru and Sakamoto Maaya are voicing the two main characters i.e. Kirie and Morute respectively. Miyano is also the seiyu for Zero Kiryuu in Vampire Knight and I fell in love with the way he portrays Zero in that series. Interestingly enough, the OP track for World Destruction is coincidentally called ‘Zero’. I actually laughed when I found out. The first episode was quiet funny to watch. The plot is structured on an adventure based theme with the protagonists attempting to put an end to the world where humans serve as livestock for the ruling beastman. The animals rule the planet and the humans are like slaves…kind of.

Last but not least is the series Antique Bakery. I thought the Yaoi tag for the show is a little misleading. It’s quite different from Junjou Romantica in that the main focus of the show is not on the yaoi aspect but rather it’s about a group of friends who work in a bakery operated by one of the friends. I really like how the show started out and the characters are interesting enough for me to want to give the series a go. The animation is nothing to shout about. It’s the story that the characters are playing out which I am looking forward to see. Oh yes, did I mention that Miyano is also the seiyu for one the characters on the show? Not only is the guy attractive looking but his voice is rather seductive…yes, that’s definitely the fangirl in me speaking.

That’s about it for the time being. Cheers for the weekend.


Leave a Reply

